Both in-house and reference lab results can be found in Worklist > Lab results. Upon opening this screen you will, by default, be presented with all unlinked results from the past 7 days for all analysers and reference labs. To refresh the results, click the Filter button.
You can choose to show or hide the filtering options by clicking Hide filtering options or Show filtering options.
There are three possibilities to adjust the results displayed:
- Filter by period. By default the results from the previous 7 days are shown, but you can select any period (to a maximum of 30 days).
- Filter by linked/unlinked/all. By default only unlinked results are shown, but you can choose here to view linked results only or all results.
- Filter by analyser. By default the results from all analysers are shown. You can choose to filter by an individual analyser if needed.
The results table shows the date and time of the test, the analyser (or reference lab), the client name, patient name and species for linked results, and remarks, together with icons allowing you to preview results, link/unlink and a delete.
If you see a PDF icon with an arrow down next to it, it means that multiple results are available for this order. By clicking the PDF icon, you can see the different files.
If you have a lot of unlinked results for one analyser and you need to find a particular result, you can hover over the info icon at the end of the result line and you will see the content of the result. This works for non-IDEXX analysers only.
Linking a result
There are two ways to link a lab result to a patient:
- From Worklist > Lab Results: find the result that needs to be linked and press the linking icon at the end of the result line. This will open a pop-up where you can search the client and choose one of its patients, just like you would do when making an appointment. You can click Link once you have chosen a patient. The name of the client and the patient will be displayed in the table and the result will show in the patient file.
- From the patient file: select Lab Result from the drop down menu in the patient file. This will bring you to the Worklist > Lab Results where you will see the name of the client and patient in the top of the screen. You can choose the linking icon at the end of the row to link that result to that patient.
The name of the client and the patient will appear in the table and the result will appear in the patient file.
To unlink a result from a patient you can click the icon at the end of the result line. This will remove the result from the patient file and will remove the client and patient name from the Lab Results table. The result will still be available in the table to link it to another patient.
Deleting a result
Only delete a result when it is not correct and will not be re-used again, because it will delete it permanently. To delete a result from a patient you can click the icon at the end of the result line in Worklist > Lab results or select this icon in the patient file. This will remove the result from the patient file and will remove the result from the system permanently!