How do I edit a user?

Changing user data comes in handy when for instance the name, role or any of the other fields for a user need to be adjusted. This article explains how an existing user can be edited.

Before you start

Only administrators can edit users in Animana.

Step-by-step instructions

  1. Go to > General Settings > User Management. You will see a list of active users.

  2.  Click the username that you want to edit.

  3. Adjust the necessary fields. The fields are explained in the More about this section below.

  4. Click Save.

More about this

Explanation of all the available fields

FieldExplanation
UsernameThis is the username that is automatically generated by Animana and this cannot be changed.
CodeThis code will be displayed along most information added to the patient/client file (such as consultation, products, notes, client orders, estimates) and tasks and diary appointments to show which user made this addition/edit. We advise to use the initials of the user.
First NameFirst name of the user.
SurnameSurname of the user.
LanguageThis determines in which language Animana will be shown for the user. This can be changed at a later stage.
EmailBusiness email address of the user, this is not required.
MobileMobile phone number of the user.
Birth dateEnter the birth date of the user.
User typeIf you have different user types set-up in the system, you may assign one here (e.g. “vet”, “nurse”, “other”). This is especially important if the user is a vet and is allowed to register medication of livestock. This is also applies to:
- Protocols: let's say a protocol has the field "user" that defaults to "vet". Suppose a colleague that adds the protocol does not have their user type set to "vet", then that user will not be shown in your protocol.
- VetConnect Plus: when creating a VetConnect Plus order from Animana, only those users that have set the "user type" to "vet" are displayed.
NotesThis field is for the administrator. It can be used to make a note regarding this user, e.g. a user’s contract hours or personal notes. It is only visible to the administrator, not to the user.
ColourThe colour corresponds with the avatar colour at the top right corner of your screen.
Appointment GroupThe group that you select here will be shown as default tab in the diary of this user.
Check on IPIf you wish to lock user access by IP address, enable this setting. When enabled the user may only log in from one of the IP addresses shown in the list at the bottom of the page.
RoleHere you are able to assign this user a role. Every role has a specific set of permissions that will allow or deny users access to particular areas of Animana.
LocationBy selecting a location, the user will not be prompted to select a location they want to log into. They will log into the location that has been selected in this field.
ModuleThis option is no longer in use, leave it empty.
Appointment ColumnThis will assign user to a particular Appointment Column if the user decides to use the diary function on an iPhone. More information about establishing a connection between Animana and an iPhone can be found at the "Related Articles" section.
ActiveBy default users are active, but you can disable users (without deleting them), by marking them as inactive. We advise clinics to disable old staff members, by doing this the client and patient history is maintained in the client and patient file.
IP addresses blockThe IP addresses section lists all the IP addresses from which the user has logged in from. When the user setting “check on ip” is enabled, the user can only log in from IP addresses (locations) which are shown in this list.
ICMHere you can enter information for external accounts. Currently supported are: Medirund, Infokalf, Infovarken and Verin.
HoursHere you can enter staff contract details, such as start date, end date and contract hours. Changes will have to be made manually.

Where do I find inactive users?

Go to > General Settings > User Management > Click Show Inactive in the top right corner.

This will show you a list of your inactive users.

Do not forget to change the type of user for inactive users. If an inactive user still has the “usertype” set to “vet”, this inactive user will still be visible if the “usertype” field is included in a protocol or when creating a VetConnectPlus order from Animana.

Related articles

    Was this article helpful?

    YesNo

    Why not?

    Tagged: